Skip to content


South Dallas County Landfill

South Dallas County Landfill


Environmental/Waste ManagementGovernment/County

About Us

The South Dallas County Landfill Agency (SDCLA) is a governmental non-profit agency organized in 1970 under Chapter 28E of the Code of Iowa and currently owns 67 acres with many years of capacity remaining. The SDCLA is a self-supporting entity. All costs to operate are paid by membership and user fees.

All waste, both commercial and residential, generated from the City of Adel is accepted at the South Dallas County Landfill.
Waste transported by residents of the communities and rural areas of both Polk and Dallas Counties, including, but not limited to, Ankeny, Clive, Johnston, Grimes, Minburn, Perry (when site is closed), Redfield, Urbandale, Waukee, as well as West Des Moines is also accepted.
Construction material from the above areas that is being hauled by residents or by individual contractors is classified as "self-hauled" waste and is allowed to be disposed of at the landfill.

The following landfills provide waste disposal to the residents living in their service areas as listed:

Boone County Landfill (Boone, Ia) accepts residential waste from the cities of Bouton, Granger, and Woodward.
South Central Iowa Landfill Agency (Winterset, Ia) accepts residential waste from the cities of Dallas Center, De Soto, Dexter, Van Meter, Earlham, and Cumming.
Metro Park West Landfill (Perry, Ia)
Recycleable materials (metal, appliances, tires, trees and brush) are acceptable from all areas.


  • Household Hazardous Waste Drop-off
  • Saturday, April 27, 2019 from 10-12 at Kinnick Feller Park

Scroll To Top